Hello, Lebanon. It’s me, your friendly Green Patriot. Did everyone enjoy the chaos on Tariq el-Jdideh yesterday? I hope not. Or how about the clashes in Tripoli? As morbid as it sounds I can’t help but wonder if a small sick segment of our people actually enjoy this macabre dance. That sounds horrible, but in my defense we’ve only been at it for decades. When my mother was a junior at university, war broke out. When I was a junior at university, war broke out. My little cousin, who is eight years younger than I am, is going to enter university this Fall while her surrounding environment is situated in political conflict. How many war generations exist in Lebanon, hmmm??? And what has it done to us?

I’d like to show you a political cartoon I found while browsing online. Take a look.

In this cartoon, the red line represents the soil that would be the foundation of the Cedar tree, the symbol of Lebanese nationalism, and it’s disappearing. I’m not using this as an environmental analogy, but rather as a political one.  Our foundation as a nation is eroding. It’s clear in the disintegration of the social fabric of our society, and our chronic socio-political conflict. Here’s another one.

I think this explains us well, don’t you? We all claim to be the “true Lebanese” but instead point fingers at each other and fail to get anything done. Well, anything positive and constructive done, anyway.

Lebanon, it’s time for us to cut this out. The entire region is in an uproar, I get it. Four dictatorships have been challenged by their people,  one of which is our neighbor.  Still, are we so anxious to continue these spats that could potentially lead to civil war in the long run?

Yes, I said it. Civil war. You’ve been thinking it too, come on. We’ve been worried about it for years now. With good reason, too. God only knows the tension is mounting, and we have a long history of both civil and interstate wars. In 1958 was our first civil war. 1975 was our second. That’s not including the wars with Israel (the last one in 2006) and the string of political assassinations since 2005.

Before blaming “the other side” (whomever the other side is to you), I’d like you to think about what the wars did to you and your family. What they did to your friends’ families. What they did to the country. And ask yourself…I mean really ask yourself…do you want any more?

